Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
The Employment Standards Program issues minor work permits and variances, establishes and publishes prevailing wage rates, and educates workers and employers by printing and distributing workers' rights posters.
State Child Labor Laws: With some exceptions, minors under 14 years of age may not be employed. The child labor law limits the work hours and prohibits hazardous types of employment for persons under 18 years of age. Employers who hire workers under 18 must have a minor work permit. Minors must have an approved Parent/School Authorization form.
Work permits are required for minors under the age of 16.
The Washington child labor laws can be found in Chapter 49, Chapter 49.12 of the Revised Code of Washington
Rules for child labor can be found at Chapter 296-125 of the Washington Administrative Code
State Minimum Wage: Effective January 1, 2018, the Washington minimum wage for workers age 16 and older is $11.50 per hour. However, 14- and 15-year-olds may be paid 85 percent of the adult minimum wage (or $9.78 in 2018). The state minimum wage is revised each year.
Overtime: With some exceptions, Washington employers must pay 1½ times an employee's regular wage rate whenever an employee works more than 40 hours in any scheduled workweek.
Premium pay is not applicable to employees who request compensating time off in lieu of premium pay.
The Washington Minimum Wage Act can be found in Chapter 49, Chapter 49.46 of the Revised Code of Washington
Rules for minimum wage can be found at Chapter 296-128 of the Washington Administrative Code
State Prevailing Wage: The Washington State Public Works Act requires that employees of government contractors be paid the prevailing wages for all public work. Prevailing wage is the wage paid to the majority of workers in a trade. Separate prevailing wages are available for each Washington county and trade. No threshold amount for contract coverage has been set under the state prevailing wage law. A separate law applicable only to state college/university construction provides for a $17,500 threshold amount.
The Washington State Public Works Act can be found at Title 39 Chapter 39.12 of the Revised Code of Washington
Rules for prevailing wages can be found at Chapter 296-127 of the Washington Administrative Code