Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
The Labor and Employment Law Division investigates violations of labor laws, mediates employer/employee disputes, prepares final orders for unpaid wage amounts and assesses civil penalties against employers, assists in civil or criminal court actions against employers, and administers the work permit program for 14- and 15-year-old minors.
State Child Labor Laws: With some exceptions, minors under 14 years of age may not be employed. The child labor law limits the work hours of minors under the age of 16 and prohibits hazardous types of employment for persons under 18 years of age. Work permits are required for minors under the age of 16.
The Virginia Child Labor Law can be found in Title 40.1, Chapter 5, Sections 40.1-78 through 40.1-116 of the Code of Virginia
State Minimum Wage: The Virginia minimum wage is the same as the Fair Labor Standards Act, which is $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009. Virginia's minimum wage law is applicable to employers who do not meet the coverage requirements of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act and who have four or more employees.
The Virginia Minimum Wage Act can be found in Title 40.1, Chapter 3, Article 1, Sections 40.1-28.8 through 40.1-28.12 of the Code of Virginia
State Prevailing Wage: Virginia does not have a prevailing wage law.