Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
The Wage and Workplace Standards Division administers a wide range of laws that protect and promote the interests of Connecticut’s workers. The Division is comprised of three separate compliance units: Employment Regulation and Minors Compliance, Wage and Hour Compliance, and Public Contract Compliance.
State Child Labor Laws: Regulations cover permissible occupations and age restrictions, maximum hours of work, statement of age/working papers, and hiring agreements.
The Connecticut child labor requirements can be found in Title 31, chapter 557, Parts I and II of the General Statutes of Connecticut
State Minimum Wage: Effective January 1, 2017, the state minimum wage is $10.10 per hour. The rates for learners, beginners, and persons under the age of 18 years may not be less that 85 percent of the minimum wage for the first 200 hours of employment and equal to the minimum wage thereafter, except certain specified institutional training programs.
The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 1/2 of 1 percent above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage rate equals or becomes higher than the State minimum.
The Connecticut minimum wage requirements can be found in Title 31, chapter 558, Part I of the General Statutes of Connecticut
Overtime: Premium pay is required after 40 hours weekly.
Requirements for overtime compensation can be found in Title 31, chapter 558, Part II, section 31-76 of the General Statutes of Connecticut
State Prevailing Wage: $400,000 for new construction and $100,000 for remodeling are set as the threshold amounts for contract coverage under the state prevailing wage requirements.
Connecticut prevailing wage requirements can be found in Title 31, chapter 557, Part IIIof the General Statutes of Connecticut