Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
The following divisions make up Arkansas’ Labor Standards Programs:
State Child Labor Laws: The Wage and Hour Division issues employment certificates (work permits) for minors, student learner permits, special disability permits, and certificates of eligibility. Certificates of eligibility allow employers to pay full time students 85 percent of the applicable minimum wage to work not more than 20 hours during weeks that schools are in session, or 40 hours during weeks that schools are not in session.
The Arkansas child labor requirements can be found at: www.labor.arkansas.gov/child-labor
State Minimum Wage: Effective January 1, 2017, the state minimum wage is $8.50 an hour. The wage applies to employers of four or more employees. The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
The Arkansas minimum wage requirements can be found at: www.labor.arkansas.gov/minimum-wage-and-overtime
Overtime: Premium pay is required after 40 hours weekly.
Requirements for overtime compensation can be found at: www.labor.arkansas.gov/minimum-wage-and-overtime
State Prevailing Wage: $75,000 is set as the threshold amount for contract coverage under the state prevailing wage law.
Arkansas prevailing wage requirements can be found at: www.labor.arkansas.gov/prevailing-wage-laws-and-regulations.