Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
The Employment Standards Office of the Kansas Department of Human Resources enforces State Labor Laws which regulate wage payments, overtime and minimum wage, child labor laws and private employment agencies. This division also distributes the required State Labor Law posters and information on how to obtain the Federal posters.
State Child Labor Laws: The Kansas Child Labor Law regulates the employment of workers under 18 years of age. This law protects children by prohibiting work in hazardous occupations for individuals under the age of 18, and limiting work hours for workers 14 or 15 years of age. Workers under 14 years of age (with a few exceptions) cannot be employed.
The Kansas Child Labor Law can be found in Chapter 38, Article 6 of the Kansas Statutes
State Minimum Wage: Effective January 1, 2010, the Kansas minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Overtime: Premium pay is required after 46 hours weekly.
The Kansas Minimum Wage and Overtime Law can be found in Chapter 44, Article 12 of the Kansas Statutes
State Prevailing Wage: Kansas does not have a prevailing wage law; it was repealed in 1987.