Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
The Colorado Labor Standards Office administers laws governing wages, minimum wage, working conditions, the Youth Employment Act and the Labor Peace Act.
State Child Labor Laws: Requirements cover permissible occupations and age restrictions, maximum hours of work, age certificates, and school release permits. 17 year-olds who are high school graduates or who have passed the GED examination are not considered minors for purposes of the act.
The Colorado Youth Employment Opportunity Act can be found in: www.colorado.gov/cdle/youthlaw
State Minimum Wage: Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage is $9.30 per hour. No more than $3.02 per hour in tip income may be used to offset the minimum wage of tipped employees. The minimum wage is adjusted annually for inflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index used for Colorado.
Overtime: Premium pay is required after 12 hours daily and 40 hours weekly.
State Prevailing Wage: Colorado does not have a prevailing wage law; it was repealed in 1985.