Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
All motor vehicles and trailers which use the highways are subject to registration. The motor vehicle registration law is administered by the Florida Division of Motor Vehicles.
Interstate carriers registering with Florida are required to submit proof of current Bodily Injury and Property Damage liability insurance each registration year. If the vehicle is leased to a carrier who provides insurance for the vehicle, a copy of the lease agreement must be submitted with the proof of insurance.
The registration period in Florida is staggered. There is no grace period; plates expire at midnight of the last day of the month shown on the plate.
Trucks less than 26,001 pounds gross vehicle weight (GVW) are issued one license plate to be displayed on the rear of the vehicle. Commercial vehicles with a GVW of 26,001 pounds or more must display a license plate on the front and the rear of the vehicle. Wrecker plates are displayed on the front of the vehicle. Dump trucks may display the rear plate on the gate no higher than 60 inches. Truck tractors are issued one license plate to be displayed on the front of the vehicle. Trailers and semitrailers display the license plate on the rear of the vehicle.
Florida is a member of the International Registration Plan (IRP). The IRP is a base state system for vehicle registration fees, allowing a carrier to apply for vehicle registration and pay fees to a single jurisdiction.
Applicants must provide proof of HVUT, insurance, physical location in Florida and vehicle ownership or lease.
Florida has a staggered registration year, which allows carriers to renew from January through October.
Temporary Permit: If the department is unable to immediately issue the apportioned license plate to an applicant currently registered in this state under the International Registration Plan or to a vehicle currently titled in this state a temporary permit will be issued. The permit is a 60-day temporary operational permit and there is a fee, which includes a service charge.
Hunter's Permit: An owner-operators not operating as a lessor may receive a hunters permit for a fee. Such permit shall be valid for 10 days and shall only be utilized for owner-operator vehicles with a registered gross weight not in excess of the empty or unladen weight of the vehicle.
Agency: Florida Division of Motor Vehicles; see Regulatory Agencies for address(es).
The registration fee schedule applies for trucks and truck tractors.
Annual and permanent registrations are available for semitrailer registration.