Be Part of the Ultimate Safety & Compliance Community
Trending news, knowledge-building content, and more – all personalized to you!
Household Goods: Florida Statutes require any person engaged in intrastate household goods moving to register annually with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Consumer Services.
Registration must be completed prior to beginning intrastate household goods transportation activity. Registration requirements apply to any person who transports or ships household goods for compensation that originates and terminates within the State of Florida (no matter how short the distance). Registration with the Department is required if you are an intrastate mover, regardless of any other local, municipal or county licensing requirements. However, note that state registration does not exempt you from obtaining a local, municipal or county license.
A certificate evidencing proof of registration will be issued by the department and must be prominently displayed in the mover’s primary place of business. Failure to comply with this law may result in a cease and desist order and fines of up to $5,000.
To register, a certificate of insurance showing the Department listed as certificate holder and the Department must be notified at least 10 days before cancellation of insurance coverage.
Other requirements include:
Registration fees are $600 for two years (renewed biennially).
Insurance: Intrastate for-hire, including bodily injury and property damage liability in minimum amounts of:
|Exceeding||But Less Than||CSL|
|26,000 lb GVW||35,000 lb GVW||$50,000|
|35,000 lb GVW||44,000 lb GVW||100,000|
|44,000 lb GVW or more||--||300,000|
Intrastate household goods carriers must have cargo liability for loss or damage to household goods not less than $10,000 per shipment. Or, if the carrier has two or fewer trucks, a surety bond or certificate of deposit may be filed in the amount of $25,000.
Interstate: $750,000 CSL required on all for-hire vehicles transporting non-hazardous property. Proof of Insurance showing amount of coverage for CSL, expiration date, and policy number must be filed by all carriers.
Florida is not a participating member of the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCRA); however, interstate for-hire carriers based in this state are required to select a base state according to UCR guidelines and file UCR registration. UCR registration is required even if travel occurs only in non-UCR participating states.
Refer to Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCRA) for the current fee schedule.
See Regulatory Agencies for address(es).
Online registration and fee payment is recommended and available to all carriers at the national UCRA website at www.ucr.in.gov.